Quick and Easy Organic Bolognese – Life Goes On

bologneseSome may think I am a glutton for punishment.

As I choke down this blueberry spinach carob almond milk smoothie this morning I reflect how I made it through the night.  I had concocted a new Bolognese recipe, one that is easier and faster and as delicious as the one I had posted awhile back.  Just a quick red meat sauce to pour over some spaghetti or whatever pasta you have on hand.  I was unable to taste my concoction but my family gobbled every last bit.  Well, as much as their little bellies can hold.  Thankfully we have leftovers tonight so I don’t have to cook.

Anyways, back to this life goes on topic.  I wanted some pasta.  I wanted some meat.  I wanted to taste this Bolognese sauce, but alas I couldn’t.  Darn it.  I’m on Day 3 of my 21 day cleanse.  I had a smoothie instead.  And this morning, the torture continues.  I made my boys waffles.  I see some leftover waffles right now in fact.  Right there, hands reach away.  But no.  I’ll refrain.  I’ll continue to choke down this blueberry shake.  Tastes so gross.  Note to self: don’t make this one again.  Life goes on though.  Although I am subjecting myself to a crazy, strict regimen, I don’t’ expect the rest of the household to abide by it.  So I must continue my job, which a portion of it is to make my family food.

If you have a picky eater or two (or more) at home, here is your chance to add a handful of spinach or basil or peas to the tomato mixture.  Blend well and they’ll never know the hidden goodness!  Make sure to serve with a side of greens.  I steamed broccoli florets in the microwave for 6 minutes.  Drained any water then added a tablespoon or so of butter and some fresh cracked pepper and kosher salt.

Happy cooking friends and if you have never experienced a cleanse before, although I may complain a lot – it feels good to rid my life of toxins.

Ingredients

2 cans organic diced tomatoes

2 organic garlic cloves

1 – 1 1/2 pounds organic ground beef (I buy the 3-pack from Costco, great price for organic!)

2 teaspoons organic basil or 2 tablespoons fresh-chopped

2 teaspoons organic oregano or 2 tablespoons fresh-chopped

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

1 beef bouillon liquid packet (preferably from Trader Joe’s-all natural no GMOs)

1 cup water

1 lb of organic pasta, any kind

Organic parmesan cheese

Preparation

  1. Blend first 2 ingredients in blender or food processor until slightly smooth.
  2. Heat skillet and cook meat, breaking up into small bits – until no longer pink; drain excess fat.
  3. Add meat and tomato mixture back into the skillet along with herbs, vinegar, bouillon and water, mix well.
  4. Let simmer, uncovered for about 30 minutes or until condensed to a desirable consistency.
  5. Meanwhile, cook pasta according to package instructions.
  6. Serve hot over pasta, sprinkle with cheese.

High Altitude Adjustment

  • None

Compost

  • Herb trimmings if using fresh

Recycle

  • Tomato cans/lids
  • Washed out beef packaging
  • Any empty spice containers

Reuse

  • This makes a lot, you will be assured leftovers!  Enjoy the night off from cooking…

Leave a comment