Linguine with Crab, Lemon, Chile and Mint – Manifesting Dreams into Kauai

imagesRemember when I was all nostalgic about Kauai?  Hoping I would be able to go?  I mean, the last time I was there it was 2009 and my first-born was only 15 months old and my youngest was about to become a reality.

Well, for two FULL weeks this summer, my boys and I are going to Kauai.  The cool thing about this trip is that my boys are bigger.  They’ll be able to hang on to the memories.

The most magical parts about this trip:

  1. I get to see Kauai for the first time again, through the eyes of my two sons.
  2. I get to see my Dad…
  3. …be a Granddad to my kids.

We’ll take them to their first luau.  Spend our days at Anini beach.  Go see the light house on the way to see their Nana Tutu at work.  Kayak up the Wailua river then hike to Rainbow Falls….bare foot.

They’ll get to fall asleep to the sounds of bugs, birds, rain and wake up to the chickens, roosters, birds, bugs and rain.  They’ll get to follow my Dad, their Grandfather, around in his glorious garden.  See how to shuck macadamia nuts, harvest pineapple and pull weeds.

They’ll get to see butterflies colors they only thought could be drawn on paper, swim in a sea that envelopes you in warmth, eat banana macadamia nut pancakes and see Spouting Horn in all its spouting glory.

They’ll get to see a movie, on an island in the middle of the pacific.

Go to story time at a Kauai library.

Meet friends on the North Shore and pick star fruit off their trees.

Go to the end of the road and hike to a lagoon just a mile or two hanging off the edge of the island.

Go eat food and have the coolest waiter there.

Hear my Dad singing.  Listen to his stories.

See a color so green it seems magical, yet it’s all around you.

Plumeria’s.

Ginger.

Night blooming jasmine.

Learn to hula.

Hike the Grand Canyon of the Pacific.

Seek secret beaches.

Pu pu’s and virgin mango colada’s at Brennecke’s.

Swim in Queen’s Bath with giant green sea turtles.

Maybe watch my Dad play ball in Hanapepe.

We’re going to Kauai.

For two full weeks.

And after writing this, I’m not sure

a return ticket was necessary.

Pasta-crab-lemon-chile-mint.

Need I say more?!  This dinner was a great weeknight meal.  Easy and fast to pull together.  Add some steamed organic peas or asparagus make this a complete meal.

I was lucky enough to have sent to me a box full of citrus from my in-laws in Southern California.  Nothing beats a California lemon.  Eureka!  This recipe is compliments of Bon Appetit Magazine circa January 2012.  I have changed nothing as I encourage you to do the same.

Happy cooking friends.  Aloha!

Ingredients

8 ounces linguine
Kosher salt
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, divided
2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1/4 cup minced shallots
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1–2 Fresno chiles, red jalapeños, or red Thai chiles, seeded, sliced into thin rounds
1 1/2 tablespoons (or more) fresh lemon juice, divided
2 teaspoons (packed) finely grated lemon zest, divided
Freshly ground black pepper
8 ounces cooked, shelled Dungeness crab, king crab, or jumbo lump crabmeat, picked over for shells
1/3 cup fresh mint leaves, gently torn, divided

Preparation

  1. Cook pasta in a large pot of boiling salted water, stirring occasionally, until al dente. Drain, reserving 1 cup pasta cooking liquid.
  2. Meanwhile, melt 1 tablespoon butter with 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add shallots and stir until just soft, 3–4 minutes. Add garlic and 1 chile and cook, stirring often, until fragrant, about 1 minute.
  3. Add 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice and 3 tablespoons pasta cooking liquid to shallot mixture; add a pinch of pepper. Stir until liquid is almost evaporated, about 1 minute.
  4. Transfer pasta to skillet and add 1/2 cup reserved pasta cooking liquid. Increase heat to medium-high. Cook, tossing pasta or stirring with tongs, until liquid is almost evaporated and pasta becomes glossy, about 2 minutes. Add the remaining 3 tablespoons butter, 1 tablespoon oil, 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 1 teaspoon lemon zest, crab, half of mint, and more chile rounds, if desired.
  5. Stir pasta until butter melts and pasta is well coated, adding more pasta cooking liquid if dry. Divide between bowls; top with remaining 1 teaspoon lemon zest and mint. Sprinkle with more lemon juice if desired.

High Altitude Adjustment

  • None

Compost

  • Shallot, garlic, chile, lemon and mint trimmings

Recycle

  • Pasta packaging
  • Crab packaging – rinsed

Reuse

  • Plastic bags vegetables and fruit came in.

3 thoughts on “Linguine with Crab, Lemon, Chile and Mint – Manifesting Dreams into Kauai

Leave a comment